Zombies and basebuilding

oeffi

So I started playing again after some time. First I had much fun with all the new content. But then, on bloodmoon, the zombies came and attacked my base. I have a moat around it, 6 blocks wide and 40 blocks deep. My base is in the middle of it and below it. The moat (inner and outer walls) is made of pure concrete. So the zombies came, saw the moat, turned around and dug all the way down, below my walls, under my moat, under my base, entered through my mine from below and attacked me from behind. 

THIS IS ABSOLUTELY STUPID!!!

Why do they do this. It makes the whole basebuilding-thing absolutely unnecessary. Why don't you just make all bases vanish at bloodmoon or just remove all this building nonsense if you don't want players to hide behind concrete walls. For me, you killed the whole game. Why have you done this? A game should be funny. In my opinion, you try all you can to kill people in game and try to make your game win all the time at any cost. Please let the zombies just what they should be. Bloodthirsty, stupid monsters that walk straight towards their prey trying to eat it. 

46 minutes ago, oeffi said:

So the zombies came, saw the moat, turned around and dug all the way down, below my walls, under my moat, under my base, entered through my mine from below and attacked me from behind.

Lol, never read about such a case, but may be plausible.

Zs magically know every block on the map. So they also know that there is a mine shaft underneath that makes a way to the player. So with this allmighty knowledge, Zs calculate a way with least resistance to the player.

So if the mine shaft was only few dirt blocks below and the rest of the way to the player completely free, this might turn out as the easier path than going through your concrete walls, with maybe additional spikes or whatever.