Why are Tier 6 items "drop only" and not crafted??

Palad1n

This is a slap or rather, punch to the face when the crafting system stops you at Tier 5 (blue quality) and you are required to find/loot tier 6 items. 

Frankly, the loot system should stop at Tier 3, and require players to craft up through Tier 6 by adding in special unique items that are rare to find. 

As things are now, I don't have to craft armor, I don't have to craft weapons, or tools. I simply find the best quality items while on difficulty 4/5 by the time I get into my 40's that investing in crafting for the bonus dmg and reload speed is the only reason for doing so. 

TFP needs to stop watering down the crafting system and give it real attention that makes sense. If not, I am sure the modding community can do a much better job balancing this. 

I get this, from a game standpoint, but it doesn't make sense from an IRL standpoint.  I worked as a mechanic for awhile to pay for mortuary school expenses.  I can build a vehicle that's better in an adverse situation than anything out there.  I'm sure I could do the same with guns if I gathered all the right parts and carefully crafted one.  The thousands of YouTube channels dedicated to how to make ____ better with a few simple mods support this.

I miss the ability to craft level 6 items and wish it would revert to the previous system of leveled components to make them; or, perhaps, add a perk like "Fine Tuning" which allows you to craft level 6 items, but requires 3 Level 5 items.  Granted, that's just me throwing out ideas from nothing.

34 minutes ago, RipClaw said:

This was a decision made by the Fun Pimps in A18. It should give players the incentive to loot even in the late game.

No, it's poor game design. TFP could have added in special rare loot required to craft Tier 6 weapons - armor - misc, thus giving a reason to loot things late game. If this is the direction TFP continues, I have no doubt the modding community will fix it.