Pimps should consider this option

Hollowprime

Hello everyone, long time no see. I've been waiting for A21 to fall before I posted but as a small unity dev I came across this video. I know 7 days to die is made in Unity and that the devs have a hard time balancing the graphics of the game. It's only fair as unity does not offer great solutions to multiple moving entities. URP despite being more polished still lacks in terms of performance. The 2022 Unity version also has significant loading times when trying to compile or import code (over a minute importing packages!)

Have the devs considered migrating to another more powerful engine like unreal which can handle thousands of moving entities?

I personally wouldn't mind having a couple orders of magnitudes more zombies on screen without the fps dropping bellow 120 😛 :

Edited by Hollowprime (see edit history)

1 minute ago, Kosmic Kerman said:

They have considered it for their next project. It won't be happening for 7dtd for obvious reasons. Changing the game engine is not a small task.

I agree it's not a small task. But unity engine doesn't seem to progress as fast as unreal not to mention the IDE lags more with each version. I personally consider checking unreal 5 when I'm done with my demo.

1 hour ago, JCrook1028 said:

Are you seriously suggesting at this late stage they switch engines? Are you daft?

ya something like this seems to indicate they have never tried to port a game from one engine to another. This seems more like a troll post than an honest question, because if they really considered the work involved, they'd realize what a bad choice that.is so late into dev

7 hours ago, JCrook1028 said:

Are you seriously suggesting at this late stage they switch engines? Are you daft?

5 hours ago, warmer said: