How does the spawning for wandering hordes work?

lxsomeone

Hello,

I'm relatively new to the game and I'm having a problem with the wandering hordes because they spawn on me every freaking day. Now at first i actually liked the wandering hordes they were kinda scary and exiciting but the past 10-15 days i had them every day and at this point they are just annoying because ive dealt with them now so many times theres not really a challenge nor any kind of scaring effect for me.

Now I'm wondering is it supposed to work that way or am I experiencing some kind of bug?

And how does the spawning really work? Has it anything to do with heat?

Some other details that might be relevant:

Playing on Navezgane Map

I'm on Day 41

Gamestage: 303

Player Level: 66

Deaths: 2

I also played a little bit with xml files:

spawning.xml:

i changed the values for the blood moon hordes to appear every 10 days, that didn't work however.

I changed the values for invisible animal spawn to make them appear a little more often.

blocks.xml:

I removed heat values from torches and candles.

entitygroups.xml

removed screamer zombies

removed zombie dogs (they appear on blood moon though)

removed spider zombies

Installed mods:

SMX UI

The Katana mod from the SDK modding tutorial

While others likely have more details, what I've read and experienced is that you have a chance for a wandering horde to appear every day and it's composition is random, but also determined by your game stage. When it spawns, it heads straight to your current position and continues in a straight line regardless of where you go after they spawn. They will not detect you if you move away before they see you, but they do beat through everything in their straight line path. I've found it helpful to check 360 degrees often and not stay in one place for too long.

Hello,