Simple things make for great user experience

KingSlayerGM

Hi all,

I just started playing Minecraft again and, as always when I switch from 7DTD, I'm amazed by how simple things improve the user experience.

Imagine you have a nice base with a few forges running. Maybe 3 are smelting iron and 2 cement. You have a stack of 6000 wood and you want to divide it among all the forges. So 6000 / 5 = 1200. How do you get 1200? Well, you split 6000 into 2 3000s, then you split them into 4 1500s and then you are ♥♥♥♥ed. YES! You will eventually be able to achieve the division, but it takes a ridiculous amount of time.

Minecraft offers an easier manipulation of stacks of items. Drag a stack holding down mouse1 and it will be evenly distributed between all the slots you pass over. MC has also many more tricks, but this is the most useful IMO.

So, adopting such shortcut in our previous scenario, you would just drag the stack over 5 slots and have your 5 1200 stacks of wood, taking you 1.2 seconds for the entire operation.

Can you TFP please give us this? Don't say you have other priorities, because this takes 5 minutes to code..

Do you guys have other tricks that maybe I miss?

KingSlayerGM

Never played Mindcraft myself, but that does sound like a great qol improvment!

But I wonder if this is not for the "polishing stage" of the game...

Better to fix broken stuff or add new stuff, before adding qol.

I don't know... Just a thought.

This is pretty far down the list of stuff I'd like TFP to work on, to be honest.

"this takes 5 minutes to code.." is right up there with, "I tested my code, and it works correctly." Best case is that this takes an hour to code and test, but if you don't know the code, it's really hard to say how long it'll take to change something.

Minecraft offers an easier manipulation of stacks of items. Drag a stack holding down mouse1 and it will be evenly distributed between all the slots you pass over.