Zombie sounds are out of place when using headphones in all versions

longshot

It was always the case for me: the zombies sound as they're near my ear. Maybe the game sounds correctly with the speakers, but the headphones just don't work for the game.

The growling is way louder than anything else and goes weirdly through walls which makes houses very confusing.

I've played Natural Selection 2 where this space sound mechanic is a very important part of the gameplay. That game does it perfectly, there is a feeling of the distance there.

Are there any options to tweak or plans to fix the sound?

When I started playing in A15, I could tell exactly where the z's were. Now I am having the same trouble you describe. I hope they fix the sound. It would be nice if they fixed what outside z's can hear when I'm inside, too. It's weird that a zombie in the next room can't hear me banging on a safe, but all the outside z's start the conga line to my inside location.

You can try this as it has solved the problem for me. If you re using windows 10, follow these directions.

1. Right click the audio icon at the lower right hand side.

2. click open volume mixer.

3. click on the icon that represents the audio device you are using.

4. click enhancement tab.

5. check the box next to loudness equalization.

6. click apply, then close out that window. done.

I had 3 pics showing how to do this but i cannot figure out how to insert all 3.

hope this helps for the time being.

EDIT: figured it out here are some pics[ATTACH=CONFIG]28925[/ATTACH][ATTACH=CONFIG]28926[/ATTACH][ATTACH=CONFIG]28927[/ATTACH]

Thanks, it may help people for now. I'm using Linux, so the "loudness equalization" is probably the same as "Automatic Gain Control" here (it's actually the algorithms that are implemented in hardware or software and used everywhere in phones, microphones, radios, VoIP, etc). Too much hassle to configure it so it doesn't mess with other games.