Some A17 thoughts

quill

7dtd has been my most-played game since early alpha. SP only. My background is just RPGs & turn-based (no twitch skills) but ever since Minecraft came out I've been hooked on sandbox. My game style varies, but once I'm used to a version I play mostly dead-is-dead, early game being my favorite. If I retire from a game (generally somewhere between day 29 and day 50 unless I get into significant base building) I'll usually up a difficulty slider or two. After A16 became stale I enjoyed Valmod (both versons) and War of the Walkers.

I always played ranged characters in RPGs, and I've leaned that way in 7dtd. I think it is very important that the game caters to multiple play styles. I've read some posts claiming that melee in A17 is relatively OP and I find myself agreeing. Not taking strength perks just gimps you too severely. Clearing at least non-dungeon POIs with a bow/headshot & stealth/shadows should be somewhat viable from the get-go but at present it generally ends up being a waste of time and ammo. I just end up killing everyone outside with my ax, or running away.

Masochistically I've recently tried a "only kill in self-defense" play-through. My game bugged out after day 12/level 10 but at least it got me to try the digging quests which I've previously considered too boring to attempt. My takeaway was that kiting zeds is basically useless for looting at present in most circumstances. Kiting should be a thing.

Although I miss the learn-by-doing exp system, I think the new perk system will be fine once it gets fine tuned.