Going back......to fun times.....

SteelMonkey

I appreciate the teams hard work on the game and in no way do I want to take away from that, or worse yet insult anyone. I'm not sure if this feedback will be helpful, hurtful, or just worthless, but here I go......

I've only got 975 hours or so, so I feel I am still a newb. I've run my own server a few times and had some good times up to A19. I upgraded to A20 and it was great to see the graphics improvements, the pipe weapons, etc. After about 40 hours on A20 though I just was not getting much fun out of the game as I have with A19. The loot seemed sporatic at best. The POI's were just not as fun, especially the old crack-a-book tower missing was a real downer. The gameplay seems more tedious and difficult. This was just no longer a game I could come home from work and fire up to crack some skulls and have some fun with. The map generator is great, but still is not able to be fine tuned to give a map to my liking like the old nitrogen and kinggen.

Eventually I had to go back to A19 to start having fun again. I don't really have ot have a game that's "easy", in fact I like nightmare setting, but these "upgrades" to game mechanics I am just not having fun with.

I'm sorry if this is insulting to the team or other players, and I don't want to make it sound like I am whining because I am not.

When I first started this game in alpha 7, I hated alpha 8 and wanted to go back. Various versions come and go and the one that I liked the most I really wish we could go back to was the mining game.

The ore was buried in large sand domes and you had be very careful as you were mining and shore up the ceiling or the whole thing would collapse on you.

I'm probably a minority opinion there. Lol