Jump to content

Darkness Falls: They mostly come out at night...


KhaineGB

Recommended Posts

50 minutes ago, Chuckiewokie said:

i have just installed the mod and getting a lot of red errors when loading, is the mod compatible with 20 (b238) ?

 

Depends on which version you installed of DF.  If you installed the latest version that Khaine has pushed, that is for A20.6.  You are on A20.  I would recommend first doing a clean install and making sure the DF version you have matches the 7D2D version (read the notes of the version of DF you are downloading).

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 minutes ago, BFT2020 said:

 

Depends on which version you installed of DF.  If you installed the latest version that Khaine has pushed, that is for A20.6.  You are on A20.  I would recommend first doing a clean install and making sure the DF version you have matches the 7D2D version (read the notes of the version of DF you are downloading).

Thanks, will update game version

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 8/16/2022 at 10:09 PM, KhaineGB said:

 Right, now git has finished screwing me in a variety of different ways, Darkness Falls V4.04 is now up! Patch notes and crap as follows.
 

V4.04

- Updated for A20.6.
- Should include the fixed twitch file if I copied the right one, because twitch nerds apparently can't live without twitch integration.
- Potentially fixed CompoPack breaking traders.
- Moved all CompoPack files into their own folder so players can just delete that if they don't want it in DF.
- Fixed Beehives producing too much honey.
 

Download [..]

On Discord you mentioned new blocks for the bunker. Did you forget to mention it there ^^? 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

9 hours ago, KhaineGB said:

That's for 4.1, not 4.04 :)

So you did not forget to mention, but you forget to put it in 4.04 - sigh!  

 

And yes, I hate the fireballs from 2 levels below. Okay, maybe I am just too slow for them. :) 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Holy hell Khaine.  You're doing in a mod what TFP has failed to do with an entire design team.  Can't take credit from them though as they've built the game that this is built upon, but we've been wanting an inventory search bar for years and you've pulled it off.  Also, the lockpicking minigame looks great!  We've needed something more skill based instead of luck ever since lockpicking became a thing in 7DTD.  Screamer hordes frankly scare the @%$# out of me, especially knowing how devastating even one can be mid to late game, but it certainly adds some spice to a playthrough.  

Sorry to hear that CompoPack is being destroyed from the inside out by it's new owners.  I read their new TOS and it really just diminishes everything the original concept of CompoPack set out to do.  That being said, I'm glad that you're working on a work around for that, but I know it's likely going to be a long frustrating path ahead.  Just remember that you have the support of the community and we'll do anything we can to help you out.

I just opened a private server today for my gaming group after getting several of them hooked on your mod.  Went very smoothly.  Everything is up and running with zero hangups.  I'm looking forward to guiding my friends through this magnum opus of yours.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I did a search but can't seem to find anything related to the problem I am having, and so I am posting to see if anyone else has experienced it, or has any suggestions. 

 

I am doing "The Reward" quest and the zombies in the bunker POI continually respawn after they die. I have gone through thousands of rounds of ammunition in multiple weapons and eventually just stood at the first doorway swinging with a laser baton and closing the door when they started to overwhelm me, but after one dies it respawns a few seconds later and joins the battle again. It is impossible to loot anything or finish the quest. 

 

I have left the area to over 5km away, had a blood moon, fought wandering hordes, restarted the quest, restarted my game and the server has restarted at least once since it first started happening. The zeds inside the POI do not despawn and I am always in combat when I come back to it even after resetting the POI they stay in place and new ones spawn. Looking at the server logs it shows "Entity spawned # of 9" or "# of 5" just a few seconds after an existing zed dies in the POI and then it says something about overflow prevention.  

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, Intabus said:

I did a search but can't seem to find anything related to the problem I am having, and so I am posting to see if anyone else has experienced it, or has any suggestions. 

 

I am doing "The Reward" quest and the zombies in the bunker POI continually respawn after they die. I have gone through thousands of rounds of ammunition in multiple weapons and eventually just stood at the first doorway swinging with a laser baton and closing the door when they started to overwhelm me, but after one dies it respawns a few seconds later and joins the battle again. It is impossible to loot anything or finish the quest. 

 

I have left the area to over 5km away, had a blood moon, fought wandering hordes, restarted the quest, restarted my game and the server has restarted at least once since it first started happening. The zeds inside the POI do not despawn and I am always in combat when I come back to it even after resetting the POI they stay in place and new ones spawn. Looking at the server logs it shows "Entity spawned # of 9" or "# of 5" just a few seconds after an existing zed dies in the POI and then it says something about overflow prevention.  

 

Tip - Destroy the body bags in the rooms

  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

16 hours ago, BFT2020 said:

 

Tip - Destroy the body bags in the rooms

 

Thanks! Our server has been doing a few other odd things lately (every white river scout quest in the same spot in the radiation zone, random POI's spawning max zombie count at current max difficulty, vehicles warping 5km back to the start of a trip when exiting them) so I just assumed it was a glitch and not an intended mechanic!

 

 

 

@KhaineGB Thanks for a great mod. My group of friends played it before back in A19 but we listened to your interview with Neebs Gaming and it rekindled our desire to hop back in. I'm sure very few truly appreciate how much work it takes to not only program, but update an overhaul like this so I just wanted to add my voice to the masses and thank you.

 

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 8/17/2022 at 5:21 PM, KhaineGB said:

I mean, I keep telling people NOT to use the mod launcher...

Hi khaine u mention not to use the mod launcher but i do not how to install it manual as im afraid it destory my original 7d2d. any tutor or guide to install DF manually? thank you very much for this information

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Posted (edited)
26 minutes ago, CartoonXiaosin said:

Hi khaine u mention not to use the mod launcher but i do not how to install it manual as im afraid it destory my original 7d2d. any tutor or guide to install DF manually? thank you very much for this information

 


I'm also working on an installer so you just download, run, hit next a lot, turn off EAC and that's it.

Then when you're done, you'd just go to add/remove programs and hit uninstall on darkness falls. This will use TFP's new mod's directory.

Edited by KhaineGB (see edit history)
  • Thanks 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

I think the errors are due to 20.6 now having advanced to B9.  There is no option to roll back to previous branches, so even with the entire game folder being nuked and a fresh install of the game prior to the DF 4.04 being installed, you will get a lot of errors at world generation.  Loading into that world does not have all those errors, so hopefully it will be stable.  If not, I will pop back here and report.  Cheers Khaine!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

EDIT - Sorry.  Looks like I somehow deleted the new version of your mod and was still trying to use the old version which was only 5.5GB.  After DLing your newest version again and seeing the file size difference I realized how I had screwed up.  I must really learn to make alt-folder names one day instead of using the same one.

 

EDIT 2 - Yep, worked like a charm with zero issues.  Again, sorry about that!

Edited by FM2009 (see edit history)
  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...