Crucible at INT 10 is Too High

adaemus

I'm a builder. I fully understand that A18 has shifted the gameplay over to more of a scavenging type of gameplay and I'm perfectly okay with that. I'm also fully okay that the cost of building has gone up and it's taking me longer to get my defenses in place.

Yesterday though I found the first change that has me shaking my head. I use blade traps as an integral part of my mid-game base setup. I unlocked Advanced Engineering 3 and as I start looking at the trap recipes I see that blade traps require Forged Steel. "Okay, no problem, I surely also just unlocked the crucible recipe" I think to myself but no I did not. To unlock the crucible recipe requires INT 10 and Advanced Engineering 5. That's fully 12 levels above the point where I first get a recipe that requires Forged Steel. TWELVE LEVELS in the now much slower leveling pace of A18.

I get it. I can find a crucible in random loot. I can find a crucible schematic in loot. I can try and find a trader that has either of these. I can even loot or buy Forged Steel and try to save up enough to make the blade traps and have enough on hand to repair them. I GET IT, this is now a game about scavenging.

But INT 10 and Advanced Engineering 5 is too high. This is higher than in any previous Alpha. Can we talk about lowering this to INT 8 and Advanced Engineering 4 at a minimum. Lowering it to Advanced Engineering 3, where Forged Steel is first needed for recipes, would be even better of course but that's probably pushing my luck.

Thanks for the Consideration.

I noticed this the other night on my INT build and I was instantly disappointed.

Level gates became stat gates now. I felt it was a little bit of a bait and switch, but certainly its better than both together.

INT 10 seems really high, especially if one considered there more than just blade traps that require forged steel.