Question about XML [devs]

themirror

Hello guys.

I'm a C# developer and I am really curious to know why the decision to use XML files instead of JSON files.

It is a unity default or what?

JSON has many advantages over XML, in parsing time, generic arrays, etc.

Since the 5.3.3 Unity update, there is a native parser for JSON that is way better than other 3rd party JSON parsers. There is any plans to change XML files to JSON files?

Any other developers can see the whole purpose of using XML over JSON? Any noticeable advantages?

I also develop with unity... among other things. I think they went with XML for simplicity, it's a lot easier for n00bs to read XML.

JSON is also very unforgiving whereas with XML everything can pretty much be parsed individually so a single typo won't render the entire file unreadable.

XML is also easier to extend than JSON.

Personally I have a strong dislike for XML having used it many times before and given the choice I'd be using JSON but I can also see where in this case XML has certain advantages over JSON.

On a small dev team, the choice between two similar approaches is most likely due to the preferences of whoever is doing the work.

I will say that there are some very good tools for working in XML, and being able to do schema validation on files that your users may be editing is probably a good thing. I don't know if there's a way to do that in JSON. It might also be handy to be able to use XQuery/XPath in the code; again, I don't know if there's a similar feature if you use JSON.

Guest Rust Buddy
Hello guys.

I'm a C# developer and I am really curious to know why the decision to use XML files instead of JSON files.

I suggested it. Done deal.

I think many people who delve into the config files to change and tweak things are probably happy it's XML and not JSON files, simply as it's more straightforward and easy to read in my view. Though some claim JSON is easier to read :p