A suggestion to solve the BIG problem

Psychodabble

Disclaimer: I am not a programmer. I don not know whether this idea is feasible or how difficult it would be to implement.

I read this post by Morloc:

It would be nice to simply choose the AI that feels most fun, but these elements will conspire to define it:

1) Horde size is limited due to performance.

2) If you have a small horde size, then you needs zombies that are either smarter, stronger or specialized to provide a challenge.

2a) Most people* in the forums have rejected stronger (bullet sponges) zombies as well as the proposed specialized (behemoth) zombies. Feral and irradiated zombies still cause some to grumble.

3) Smarter zombies alienate the Romero crowd and others, but what they want cannot happen due to #1 above, so TFP aims toward smarter zombies.

4) Smarter Zs have more complex AIs to the point of being "too smart" to feel like zombies anymore. This of course doesn't take into account the current pathing exploits that are possible, and likely to be eliminated or greatly mitigated as TFP hones their algorithms.

I think we're in trouble long-term due to the limitations on zombie quantity.

*That's my subjective observation. I'm OK with or without either personally.

-Morloc

And I'm quite inclined to agree. We argue about AI and bullet sponge zombies, but these are all workarounds to compensate for the technical limitations on what we all really want: huge zombie hordes. Morloc is right. The big problem isn't going away no matter how we try to compensate for it, so why don't we solve it?

If I understand correctly, the problem with a really daunting horde is that it's just too many entities. Managing so many entities at once slows the engine to a crawl, making the game unplayable.

So here's my suggestion: dramatically reduce the number of entities involved in a horde. I don't mean small hordes, I mean HUGE, simulated hordes using new models that LOOK like mass numbers of zombies.