Map Generation Questions

wicketness

The new maps feel so empty.

I have tried RWG and i have tried the new generation tool built in.

Is it possible to affect how large cities and towns are and how many?

I am aware in the tool there is an option for that. but it is not enough i am not interested in realism as this is a game.

I just want to be able to have 3-5 times more cities and towns, with a 10K map.

With multiple 20 player servers, cities and towns don't last very long and i have been forced to have 7 day loot respawn and in some cases 3 days.

I know 8 players is the max supported, 20 players seems to be the sweet spot for my group having a couple hundred zombies always running around.

I know there used to be a way with RWG but i haven't needed to try it manually within the Xml files.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

I'm no RWG expert, but if I wanted to start playing with it, I'd open rwgmixer.xml and start experimenting. For example, maybe changing the "many" value from 4 to 6 and bumping up the "mintiles" and "maxtiles" values a bit. Start small and see how it performs would be my advice.

<property class="city">
            <property name="few" value="2"/>
            <property name="default" value="3"/>
            <property name="many" value="4"/>

<property name="mintiles" value="14"/>
            <property name="maxtiles" value="18"/>
        </property>

You might also look into KingGen, but I'm not sure its current status re: A20 compatibility. I used it for A19 and it was excellent.

Edited by Boidster (see edit history)

I've been trying to understand the advanced map generation option and I don't completely understand it yet.

There is a correlation between mountains and the polar biome. When I get rid of the mountains the polar biome is gone. Or minimal at best.  I made a map this morning and had one mountain, no cracks, no craters, and that yielded a polar biome but no Forest. The map was mostly wasteland.