Solutions, so as NOT to eliminate the use of nerd poles in game.

Zantrag

I love using nerd poles for various reasons. Generally I have avoided poling up to the roof after loot; as this seems like cheating.

HOWEVER, the ability to nerd pole is a lot of fun! One solution:  Randomize the locations of loot within POI's, to prevent this cheat.

Simply have four or five different locations where the most valuable loot can spawn, and make it random on every respawn.

Then, even if you nerd pole to the roof, it doesn't mean you can get the best loot there. You must still search the building.

You want to work from the roof down when looting?... O.K., from the basement up... also O.K., from the middle...?  It's all good.

Sure, it may not be the perfect solution, and I'm no developer, so I don't know how hard this would be to accomplish; but

I would hate to lose the ability to nerd pole... so there.  Any other (or better?) ideas? BTW, can't wait for A21... Looks great!!!

I can support the idea as it embodies features that I think would be handy even if I have my doubts about addressing the problem you describe. I'd certainly love to be able to randomize the locations of loot items on a block-by-block basis.

That said, this is suggestion is easier said than done and unlikely to provide the relief desired. So long as designers look to make a single large loot-pile, players going directly to the loot will remain a problem unless you design a POI to support it in advance and the POI is significant in size. This isn't viable for a great many existing POIs. I think even if you got the support needed added to the game code, you'd still have a massive effort needed to adjust the POIs and in the end the players would still memorize the locations. For instance, players already remember all of the zombie spawn points in a POI, which are more numerous.