Adding New Materials as Forge Inputs through XML?

Hello all,

I am relatively new to XML modding but have down modding in other games such as COD 4 and Halo.  I am looking for a way, if it is possible, to add new input materials to the forge through the XML files so that it is client friendly and requires no additional downloads for them.  I have gotten my new materials to show up in the forge's "available materials" window and added the materials/recipes/items to the XML files but they do not burn in when I place them in the forge.  If I change the "forge_category" of my new materials to iron or lead it smelts in just fine.   I was wondering if that is something that is hard coded in or if I am missing a line of code somewhere to do it.

Thanks for any help and if you need more information, please let me know!

-alf

An indented paragraph on a forum post?? What madness is this! Lol..

I believe you need a wildcard recipe for it to smelt into an item.

<recipe name="resourceClayLump" count="1" tooltip="ttScrapMetalBrass" always_unlocked="true" tags="salvageScrap"> <wildcard_forge_category /> </recipe>

Try making the resource you want it to burn into to be where resourceClayLump is. Then the material of the object has to line up with that name in materials.xml, and finally add that material to the item in items.xml. I haven't done this myself, but i remember that being part of it in previous alphas, as well as having to make the UI changes for it to show up.

I apologize for the double post but I can't seem to find the edit post option 😕

I tried the above and it was unsuccessful, I'll put all my code below so you can see if I'm missing something I'm not seeing.  I've looked through every XML file for anything relating to the forge and modified what I thought needed it.

Thanks!