How smart are the zombies?

Otis

hey everyone. I'm new to all this. Had the game for over a week and I think I've found where I want to build a base but have a question. I'm going to build on the roof of a 6 story apartment building I've found (as soon as I figure out how to get up there) and was wondering if I spike alternate stairways each story is the Zombie AI smart enough to have them change stairwells each time? was asking cause id like to have a quick safe way down through the building. Thanks.

Zed tracking is not that intelligent. They will just beat on the walls of the first floor trying to get to you until the SI breaks and the structure collapses. They don't really "see" stairs as anything other than another block. They will path to, and target doors to get to your fleshy meat, but that is about the extent of their pathing outside of the player tracking they do.

Thanks for the info. Guess being high in the sky is not that great of an idea. Oh well. survived my first horde night in a little shack with 4 rows of spikes around it and thought this giant structure would be great if I could direct the horde where I wanted it to go but guess ill find a place close and try to design something. Appreciate it guys.

Standard disclaimer: I play on PC.

Zombies don't avoid spikes. They can also go up a flight of stairs without issue if you haven't doctored it. You shouldn't assume you're safe on the second story. But they seem to get confused as you go higher, so on the 5th floor or higher you'll see what the other posters mention, where they decide to attack walls at ground floor instead.

In my humble opinion, staying high in the sky is bad because it's too effective.