nVidia 1660 Super: is anyone using one? If so, how is it?

FileMachete

Been eyeballing one for a while now, but haven't yet pulled the trigger.

It's about as high as I can go using the bones of my current computer. Will only be running at 1080p.

Vid card I'm running is so old it hasn't had driver support in years, so anything still being supported would be a big step up. So that's not the question. :)

Trying to get some idea of, A) is this particular card running 7dtd at decent settings w good frame rates? B) is there another card that's either cheaper or just a bit more $ that is substantially either ~same-ish or noticibly better? Caveat to B is that the 1660 Super at 125 Watts is about all I'd feel comfortable with, power supply wise. So even if card X were 10% more $ for 20% better performance, but drew 175 Watts, I'd likely stay w the 1660 Super so as not to have to upgrade the power supply.

As an IT professional, I'll state that card is a great value. Any of the Super series is a great bang for the buck. You're going to have other choke points and it isn't just your video card alone that will give you "decent settings with good frame rates". You might consider the RTX 2060 Super, but to be honest...I think you're already on the right track. I'd stick with the 1660S.  

I don't have any clear expectations other than it being 'better' than what I have now. Which as I mentioned would be virtually impossible to fail.

(basically everything either set to Low or Off & running at 1600x900) (current monitor is a nice 1080p IPS LCD. No AMD or nVidia features)

Maybe it would be better to ask what settings they're running, from someone who's using one of these.