Gamesaves reset to Tutorial Mode and wipe of possessions if game is selected while offline from STEAM.

Queetzall

My cable modem went down Sunday, and I decided I'd play 7D2D.  At character launch I noticed I had no tools, map showed as unexplored, and I was in tutorial mode, however the game was showing as day 10.

Tried on another save and got the same result.

Issue is reproduceable.

A20 b238

I ‘think’ it’s an online vs offline issue…..a game you start connected to Steam cannot be continued offline. So an offline game, even using the same seed, will start a new game. I know that’s probably not what you wanted to hear. Not being a programmer, I cannot say if it’s intended or if it has to be that way or if it’s a bug. Maybe someone else will chime in with their opinion. If not, maybe submit it as an official bug report in the bug report section.

I just had this very issue. 

Dedicated server. No mods. Myself my son and wife all play.   I was not playing at the time, my son just exited the game and my wife was playing.  There was a brief power outage in my house (IRL).  My wife's character now starts as a naked and alone level one character and myself and my sons characters have maintained their levels and progress.  The server time and all out stuff is still there its just my wife's character has reset. 

Edit:

I found this after further searching

Edited by Lord Morphleyes (see edit history)

I see this a lot….people who lose power while playing get corrupted player files or saves. I’m assuming it’s due to the constant updating of information to the player profile and when that updating is abruptly interrupted, the data can become corrupt. I don’t know if it’s avoidable or not, a programmer would need to chime in but I’m guessing that it’s because 7 Days is a voxel game and the amount of data being written is tremendous. 

18 minutes ago, SylenThunder said:

Possible recovery for this is covered in the support thread.