SylenThunder help?

Lorri

Hello. I tried to send you a message and it would not let me. I'm sorry to bother you but I just read your reply to a post on why a player is receiving lag issues with his i3 Alienware computer. You seem to know a lot about computers so I was wondering if you wouldn't mind me picking your brain for just a minute? I'm in the market for a new gaming laptop (a desktop if it's the right option). I trust the Intel products more (the i3 or i5 for example) and I trust in Nvidia more as well. I have a budget of about $1500-$2000 (but would absolutely love to go less if at all possible as there are others things I have been wanting for years as well but I am willing to spend that amount). I think I would like a SSD because I've read they are faster. Yeah, if you hadn't already noticed, I'm a complete novice when it comes to this kind of stuff. Your opinion would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much. :)

As a novice, you probably want to go with a pre-built system. That's going to increase your cost a bit.

IMHO, you might as well skip the i3 series completely. i5 is ok for moderate use, but if you plan on actually using the PC, I would recommend an i7.

That said though, AMD's 3rd generation is kicking Intel's @%$*#!. Even the latest entry-level Ryzen R3-series is completely wiping the floor on both price and performance. Intel needs to be really scared right now, and should have been for the past year. (Keep in mind, this is coming from a guy who has sworn by Intel for high-end computing for a little over 20 years now.)