Options to enable and disable mods

offsuit57

I was wondering if it would be possible to set the game up to be able to turn on and turn off mods when creating a world. I know that after a world is created changing the mods could cause major problems. I do think it would be nice to be able to create a world without having to restore an old copy of the XML files. This is how I was thinking this could work, I am not a programmer so I have no idea if this is possible or not.

Mods or changes to the XML would be put in a separate folder from the main XML files of the game. If that mod is selected when creating a new world then the world would generate with the files from that mod folder.

I think this would be helpful as well if you mod or change any files for playing on a server. For example, I like to change the stamina use on the shovel. Every update I have to change that file, of course this is one change so it does not take long. However if I had a list of changes I could just keep them in my own Mod folder and select that option when creating a game.

Maybe something like this is already planned, maybe it is not possible to do, just a thought.

Thanks

this would be great but could also cause conflicts.

example mod1 adds block 1967 - colbaltwall

mod2 add block 1967 - orangecabinwall

now on run the block is added and then over written. anything in the first mod that uses the colbaltwall is not orangecabinwall.

i think this idea is fantastic when they get around to full mod support.

but how mods are donw would have to be changed

blocksmod.xml

<change id="1" type="add">

<block name="obsidiumwall">

<property name="Material" value="steel" />

<property name="Texture" value="46" />

<property name="DowngradeBlock" value="steelWall" />

<property class="RepairItems">

<property name="forgedobsidium" value="10" />

</property>

<drop event="Destroy" name="scrapIron" count="4,12" prob="1" />