Parts?

ungkor

What is the point of finding "parts" of weapons or tools?   By the time you actually have enough parts, and the skill points, and all the other ingredients to make X, you probably already have X. 

I wish they would just re-balance the game to let us discover actual functioning weapons and tools in loot.  

I've been playing this game for a few years, and it seems like the developers answer to "the game is over too soon", is just "make it harder to get anything". 

Make content for us.  Don't make impediments for us.  

--------------------

On a side note, it seems like the most recent versions of the game are designed around multiplayer.    During alpha 17, you could have a mode of transportation, be strong enough to fight zeds, and grow crops and build bases,  by level 50 or so.  With alpha 20, it seems like you can only specialize in a 1-2 of those areas, and are super weak in the others.  

I don't feel like the devs are considering what it is like to be a solo player very well in Alpha 20.  

Kind of agree with you there. The only time I've made guns from parts rather than find or buy them, is in cooperative multiplayer.

For the first 3 or 4 weeks, it very much is a "any weapon's a weapon", and I do like that about a survival game... but there comes a point where I have put 3 points into say, shotguns and I am still using a pipe shotgun, and still short parts to make a proper one... It does feel a little unbalanced and frustrating at that point. I've learned to be a veritable expert in shotguns without having ever picked one up.

It's not a game killer for me, but it's certainly something I think could do with some tweaking to make progression feel a bit smoother.