Need Help: Creating new Items using existing Icons/Meshes

Guest Rassilon

Guest Rassilon

Hello Fellow Players.

Short Summary:

I want to create tiered Versions of the existing Magazine Extender. Each Tier with more Rounds as the one before.

I had success in creating: The Item, its recipe and its shematic, solely via XML Edits

I have Problems with: Connecting the allready existing Icon of the vanilla Extender with my new tiered ones, aswell as writing Custom Descriptions for the recipe aswell as the Item itself. Right now they are blank (text and Icon)

Question: Is it possible? Or do i need to create a Modlet/Xpath?

Im fairly new to modding and want to avoid that players have to download anything from the Server.

(At least until i created something that is worth creating a real Modlet/Mod for)

Sure, descriptions are in Localization.txt

If you want to reuse the magazine extender's icon but change the color, you can use:

<property name="CustomIcon" value="modGunMagazineExtender"/>
<property name="CustomIconTint" value="255,0,255"/> (RBG values)

Guest Rassilon

i kind of feel retarded right now.

Last Fall i allready tried to do it, but couldt get the icon done, nor the descriptions.

Not with your help, i got both in like 5 minutes

Thank you very much!

Maybe one last thing: Is there a List of Icons i can use with Names or something, or is it just always the itemname?

I think any vanilla item, it's just the same as the item name. Even in modlets, you don't need the CustomIcon line if the icon is the exact same name as the item. I still use it that way if I change something, I don't have to worry. Lol.

Guest Rassilon

so, i had success. Created a new Version of the Magazine Extender

https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=1823504805

custom color, Icon from the Magazine Extender, altered Description and the test values of the Mod works too.

Problem: