7 Days to Die transition from Alpha to v1

Hello, I have a question concerning 7 Days to Die and the transition form Alpha to v1.0. I am new to online gaming and not very tech savvy on how much of this works. I purchased the game through STEAM and am enjoying it very much. I do not know the specifics of how games are purchased, downloaded and played through STEAM. Is the whole game downloaded to my computer? Could I launch a non-multiplay game I have made on my computer if not connected to the internet and launching through STEAM? Or is only part of the game data downloaded and saved on my computer and the connection to STEAM and it's servers is required to have all the components of the game to play?

I assume, if I chose to update to 7 Days to Die v1.0 it will replace/overwrite the current 7 Days to Die Alpha 21.2 load on my computer. And when I connect to STEAM it will connect me to the new v1.0.  Currently both v1.0 and Alpha 21.2 are available for play. Depending on if you chose to try v1 experimental update to v1.0 or stay at Alpha 21.2. So, could how the game versions are identified be managed in a way that both remain available for play? Could my library on STEAM have 7 Days to Die [alpha21.2] and 7 Days to Die [v1.0] listed as options to play?

Again, I am not too tech savvy and might be seeing things as simpler than they are on the tech side of things. The time I have been on STEAM is my only time playing games on-line and being able to do multi-player games with friends. Prior to joining STEAM I had only ever purchased games at a local store and loaded them on my computer to play. No internet was needed. As long as I had power, I could play the games.