'Calling Animator.GotoState on Synchronize layer' causing game hitching and lag

LegioLunae

Hia, I've been a long-time player of this game since A17, and this has been a consistent issue for me ever since I started playing. Stopped playing for a long while because of this issue, (finally got fed up after reading and trying a lot of solutions online and none working), and after coming back and playing again, and begrudgingly tolerating it since A18 dropped, I decided to see if I can get some help and hear it right from the horse's mouth what this issue may be and how to fix it. Reading around online, I also have noticed this is an issue for other players too, so this isn't just an isolated case for me alone.

Every time I play, at seemingly random times after playing for a few minutes, the game will completely freeze to 0 FPS for anywhere from 1 to 30 seconds, then comes back, and freezes or severely slows again for a few seconds after, before it goes back to normal FPS. This usually happens when I get more into a game and start changing stuff (breaking blocks, harvesting trees, building stuff, exploring more of the map, etc.), but can even start happening on day one of a new game. It generally happens when I'm doing an action, whether killing an enemy and making its head explode or knocking it down, looting something, opening a menu, or even just simply walking around sometimes. It seems to be even more prevalent when I'm playing on servers, too.

Possibly related, the startup (when the screen is fading in) also takes anywhere from 5-10 seconds, with extremely low or zero framerate for up to 10 seconds after the fading in ends, as well as with looking around or any action, generally on later days in the game. Not sure if that's normal, but don't think so.