Engine Noise driving me crazy !

ROSSO_D

Is it just me, or does the engine noise (especially the 4x4) just drive you nuts ?
I have to mute whenever I go on a trip because it annoys me so much.
I hope TFP will eventually bring out a "Radio" vehicle mod which mutes the engine and plays music or hell, even an earplug helmet mod would do !!

but, in the meantime, is there a mod I can't find that mutes vehicles ? and if not, why not ? Surely it isn't just me ?

Cheers

I did some playing around and searching on the forums. Apparently, you have to change the volume of the sound file itself through unity, and then write an xpath code to use those sound files instead. I am still new to Unity, but perhaps someone else can provide more info? I really was hoping it was as simple as adding a "volume" attribute somewhere, but couldn't get any of it to work.

@Riles, you're correct, but I'm not sure how to add a volume attribute (way beyond my experience level)...but here's the way I'd do it. Don't be discouraged by all the reading, once you get it down and have a working example (and the tools downloaded and installed) its not too hard to add/modify a game sound.

To do this requires a little bit of work and may be frustrating if you haven't done it before (have to install tools, probably have to read up on how to use them a little).  You'll have to extract the game sounds (I believe people still use the UABE tool: https://community.7daystodie.com/topic/1871-unity-assets-bundle-extractor/ ) then for each sound you want (You'll to search a bit for them in the assets files, they're just .wav files when extracted by UABE) , load each one you want to modify into a sound editor (maybe use Audacity, or choose your favorite ) then adjust the volume levels and re-save the sounds as .wav files.  I made a sound modlet and I just extracted *all* the game sounds and then went through them vs extracting one at a time.