Help with Localization.txt

NeonScorpion

Hello, recently I picked up coding and moding 7DTD. I've never done it before so im learning as I got. Im cutting my teeth by making some new weapons and recipes to mimic Dead Islands weapon mods system. My idea was that you could learn more powerful shock and fire effects to put on melee weapons. So far I made a burning club and it worked, so i moved on to making the 4 fire buffs that can be placed on weapons. Each is progressively stronger than the last but uses more expensive materials and harder ways to obtain the recipe.

I have named each one but I realized that in game they are all still called "Burning" when i would prefer it to lable the buff on the weapon after its name. So the strongest, "Phoenix" would actually say "Phoenix" on the item information in game instead of "Burning". I found the Localization.txt and was going to try to add my own names and descriptions for each buff there and link them to their respective buffs, but that file seems a little complicated. I have no idea what I'm doing, what I can change, and how to properly add my own descriptions and names and link them so they work? If someone would be kind enough to break down just a line or two of Localization.txt, explaining in brief what each portion if the line does I think I could figure it out from there. And any help on properly linking that new name and description to a buff or a new item would be great, because of right now my flaming barbed club has the normal barbed clubs description and I want go fix that too. Any help would be much appriciated! Thanks!

You can change the name of the buffs directly in the buffs file which is what most people do. Same goes for progression and sometimes quests, but you can use the localization files if you really want to.

but for buffs for eg you can just change these directly in the buffs file

name_key="burningSmall" description_key="burningSmallDesc" tooltip_key="burningSmallTooltip"