Roaming Hordes

therealguy_

Hey so I’m new to this game and playing on console at the moment. So it started on day 9 that I had a medium sized of zombies started walking by my base but they didnt detect me. Some even got stuck on my traps. After they passed a few more stragglers showed up a bit later and also passed by. Afterwards early on day 10 another damn group showed up at my base but I killed them easily. So a few minutes later even more guys are showing up to my base but I stopped playing to make this post. So I have to ask is this normal or am I extremely unlucky. I’m not close to the city and it is dog day and I’m worried that if I head out I’m going to get destroyed by dogs and wandering zombies.

tldr: Multiple hordes wandering to my base day 9-10, is this normal.

I'll move this to the console section since you're on that side of the fence.

Yes, random wandering hordes are random. They are spawned in randomly and are generally targeted at the chunk the player is in.

If you're generating a lot of heat, you can get additional screamer hordes.

I've had the same thing happen on days 3-5 before. It's just bad luck with the randomizer. Fortunately, they are usually pretty easy to hide from. I like to wait for them to pass, then follow and pick them off one at a time. Great for exp and drops early game.

I like to boost up my Blunt Weapon skill and Pummel Pete perk early so when herds roll through, I just go up and bop them on the head to build up the skill. Just make sure you kite them around in an open area so they don't flank you (and they will try). I got a string of herds rolling thru at night on my recent play through, so that is no good for this method (setting at walk/day and run/night).