Ideas for compromises for A17

telken132

Just some ideas for compromises between A16 and A17.

These are just some partially thought out ideas based on what i have been gleaming from the forum posts by others. If you agree or disagree please post your idea about how the old and new systems could be used together to make 7D2D better. Scraping entire new systems is not the idea of this post.

I am not a programmer and do not have any idea how hard to program or performance taxing it would be to modify/create the systems below. Maybe my ideas would need a large rewrite or cause large bottlenecks in performance but it never hurts to put ideas out there.

Learn By Doing & Perks

Remove Character levels. Gaining character levels would have no effect on you.

Make the main attributes (Strength, Perception, Fortitude, Agility and Intellect) Learn By Doing.

Instead of 10 points per tree go to 50. Make it a gradual increase up to 50 (Cannot buy any attributes).

Leave the skills themselves able to be purchased by the points acquired in each separate attribute. The "level gating" would then be having to perform a repetitive action to get enough points to purchase desired skills.

You gain skill points in each tree by actually doing an action that fits into the attribute.

Building/crafting things to gain Intellect skill points

Using guns and bows, wrenching items and looting to gain Perception skill points

Use melee and mine for Strength skill points

Cardio type actions (running, jumping, swimming, and sneaking) for Agility skill Points

Harvesting animals & Crops, using antibiotics and medicine, taking hits from zombies for Fortitude Skill Points

Exploration requirements

Why not take the vehciles out of the crafting options. While searching you might find a broken vehicle. Make it so you have to go out and find parts to fix it (RNG Loot, non craftable). Once you get it repaired you can pick it up to inventory and repair with repair kits.