How do you use the new Export Prefab?

PurgatoryWolf

A17 added the option to Export Prefab.

I am an admin on a MP server with RWG.

When I press ESC I can see "Export Prefab" but it's greyed out.

I, nor the server owner, can figure out how to make this work. He cannot find any permissions pertaining to this feature to give to me.

I have been working in Debug Mode and Creative Mode, and we simply can't figure this out.

Someone earlier told me:

You have to enable debug mode (console command DM, requires permissions if you are on a server), create a selection that covers what you want to export and then click the button. If you're a client on a server though note that this will be saved on the server, not your PC.

As for how to create / modify a selection: I'd recommend toying with the Prefab Editor, that one has a help on how you create/modify/remove selections.

I went into the Editor, and it does not have this feature to try out. I cannot find any instructions on how to utilize this feature at all. :(

----

Edit: I even made a Single Player game, and the Export Prefab was still greyed out. Is this feature not turned on yet?

There's a hotkey to let you select blocks. I forget the default, go to your keyboard shortcuts in game to find it out. Once you can select/deselect blocks and are in `dm` debug mode, you can select one block to start a selection, and click opposite side block to end selection, then when you press escape, Export Prefab will be able to be pressed

Sharing what I learned...

Using the In-Game Export Prefab feature:

- Be in Debug Mode -

*Stand at one corner and press the Z key to place your first marker. (Pressing Backspace will remove markers)

*Move to the opposite corner and press the Z key again to place your second marker. (you can also hold the key and drag it around to change sizing)

*Use the "drop" key (which is whatever key you have assigned to drop items, G by default), to adjust your positioning