(New to Modding) A few questions about particles and weapon effects...

NeonScorpion

Hello everyone! I just recently bought 7DTD on PC and found out about mods. First off, I've never coded or modded before in my life. But after seeing how much of the xml code is common sense and easy to understand (for the most part) I want to get into it. I have a basic grasp on coding and I've played around with a few basic value changes and watched some videos to get an idea of what can be done.

Now on to my questions. The first thing I wanted to do to cut my teeth so to speak was to make a quick mod for my game to add Weapon Modifications from games like Dead Island. I know how to add recipes, and kinda how to add new items. I know I can copy an existing club or knife and add new attributes and give it a different name and link it to a new recipe. The thing I want to know about is in two parts.

First, particle effects. I want to make a few recipes that combine weapons with other ingredients to make flaming versions with a chance to set enemies on fire. Like a mix between a barbed club and a torch. But I was wondering how would I make the club actually look like its on fire and give off particles and even light? Do I just copy the Torch info and replace the model with the barbed club and then change only the damage and durability values to match a club? How do I apply similar particle effects from a torch onto different weapons like a hunting knife or machete?