Needed Overhauls

Memeready

Hi, I've been a 7 days to die player since 2015. I've had lots of fun playing this game back then but nowadays I feel like there are some mechanics that need an overhaul. I'm also a game developer, a manager of a team of 5, a 3D designer and I've worked with both Unity and Unreal engine 4 and 5. 

This game is falling behind from the game industry. If a totally new player who has no knowledge about 7 days to die sees this game, they will know the game is old. This game can be enhanced in many ways and has a lot of potential. This game has the potential to be one of the best survival games out there.

The list of overhauls mentioned below are going to be in order, from the most needed to the ones that would make the game better but aren't too necessary. I also through out the explainations will give refrences to different games for a better understanding. 

• Physics and Combat Overhaul

The reason I've mixed Physics and Combat is because they come together. I understand this is a voxel game and is running on unity however unity has a very good physic system.

Melee: Let me start with an example. I hit a zombie with a sledge hammer, the sledge hammer's animation starts by going from right to left however the force applied to the zombie is perpendicular to what it's meant to be, therefore, the zombie is thrown backwards. I assume the developers of the game have used raycast instead of collision detection for melee weapons which makes it unrealistic.