How this game is supposed to be played

Reth

It seems to me that a lot of my issues come from one simple fact - I'm not playing this game the way it was designed to played.

I am a base builder by nature, and that seems to become more and more difficult with each patch. So, please, tell me - is building a base a viable play style? Should I try to invent and build an impenetrable tower like I did in countless other tower defense games, or am I just doing it wrong? I am fine either way, but I would really like to know.

I am a tradeskiller by nature (mostly in games though ;). With A17 I find myself beating countless zombies with my iron club just so I can make some simple iron tools and cook a few simple items. I don't *need* them, I just want to make them, for, you know, fun. I used to be able to, but now it's all locked behind levels. I keep reading it was all done in the name of making the game more survival-like. /shrug

I played dozens and dozens of other games (no exaggeration here) where I could specialize in one area or the other. The way it usually works is that you get some basics from every single field, and then you excel at a single one of them. Can I do that in 7D2D now? I can't seem to be able to do much without spending skill points in the areas I have very little interest in.

I am truly at a loss here. Clearly, I have some wrong expectations. I can kill zombies all day with my iron club, but that gets real old real fast. I killed so many, I'm sure if zombies were smart enough, they'd avoid me by now. That's not what I want from this game. I want freedom to build. I'm not getting that vibe from A17.

It looks like this game is being changed to accommodate a very specific play style. I would really like to know what that play style is so I can adjust mine accordingly.