My own view on the skills/attribute trees (small change proposal)

Jost Amman

The other day I was looking at the skill tree and I thought there were some skills that IMO could work better if assigned to a different attribute.

Examples:

Salvage Operations should be under the Fortitude attribute, since dismantling something (I've had some non-professional experience there) is not much about perception, since you basically get whatever parts you need after you disassemble everything, but is much more about stamina, since it's a lot of sweat and work to strip down something.

Instead, The Hunter is much more appropriate IMO under Perception, since you need to look at the good cuts and then notice what parts of the animal are good or bad to extract.

I think also that Charismatic Nature, which is now an MP only skill, should have a use also in single player.

An example of a possible way to use CN in SP is to have it affect how animals react to you.

Example (in SP):

"You are an inspiration to your allies, increasing their combat prowess. Your charisma also extends to animals. Small animals perceive you less a threat, and some predators will instead be more careful as you project an Alpha vibe on them."

Lvl.1 Small animals like chickens and rabbits will let you get closer before running away.

Lvl.2 Coyotes and snakes will not attack you unless you get much closer to them.

Lvl.3 Wolves will perceive you as an Alpha pack leader, will only attack when much closer than "normal".

Lvl.4 You can behave so that Mountain Lions don't easily see you as prey anymore... until you get closer!

Lvl.5 You understand how to "respect" Bears to not easily upset them, you get a lesser chance to be attacked.

Now, about the other two skills that I think should be switched...

Grease Monkey, should move under Fortitude since doing the mechanic is hard work, and you need a lot of stamina to wrench, dismantle and assemble stuff.