[Linux Server] (New to Linux Dedicated) - Cannot Connect, Server Seems not to be Using Set Ports (?)

abarham

Hey everyone.  Sorry for the vague title, not sure what is wrong here.  I cannot connect to a brand new server hosted on Digital Ocean.  I followed the steps at the beginning of Alloc's thread and the server seems to be starting up, but I cannot connect.  There is no firewall currently set up, and I'm using default settings just to try and get it working.

I'm new to Linux, but when I used netstat, it only shows the server listening on port 8081 (for telnet), and the listing looks like this:

Instance name        | Running  | Players | Port
---------------------+----------+---------+------
Azure                |      yes |    ?/ 6 | 26900

And the status:

Open ports:
    8081 (tcp)
Players:

Game info:
    Server name:    <server name>
    Password:       xxxxx
    Max players:    6
    World:          RWG

Network info:
    Port:           26900
    Public:
    Control Panel:  off
    Telnet:         Port 8081, Pass xxxxxx

I'm fairly certain I did everything correct, but obviously I missed something.  I'd be very appreciative if someone could point me in the right direction, even to say something like, "there could be a million things wrong."  Trying to learn how to run this on Linux :)

Thanks!

n3cr0

Thanks -- I have a friend who's a network admin and knows Linux quite well that will help me eventually...  With that said, here are the servers with netstat -tulpen

Active Internet connections (only servers)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address           Foreign Address         State       User       Inode      PID/Program name
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:8081            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      996        37118      12058/7DaysToDieSer
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.53:53           0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      101        19796      586/systemd-resolve