Wasteland - Surving the night

ra4529

Hey all,

I've been playing for a while but only solo and just one long game. So I'm not a total noob but I'm noob adjacent.

Since I learned early on (the hard way) about the Wasteland at night I've avoided it other than in the daylight.

Now I'm over level 200 and well geared so one day I was clearing a 6 story building in the wasteland when night got close.  I decided to spend the last few minutes building a quick base on top of a three story building next door.

There was no access to the roof so I built a ladder that starts three blocks off the ground and with my Parkour skill I can reach it but Z's don't seem to be able to.

I parked my gyro-copter up top and waited for night. It turned night and I saw a wraith. At that point I'm thinking "It's on!", I kill it with a head shot and wait for the horde but nothing happened.

I watched with night vision for a while then got bored and started adding to my base, I cleared part of the roof to make a flat path around the entire top of the building with rails so I could lean out, then it started raining so I built a covered spot and a couple camp fires and storage chests.

I sat by the fire until the rain stopped then patrolled around again, still nothing.

Morning came and I got back to clearing the 6 story building.

When I was done it was close to night again so I decided to hang out another night. I see a couple Z's, take em out, then like 4 more, I kill those and before I know it, I see 4 z bears, 3 z dogs in a pack, wraiths, spiders, a bunch of zombie chicks, z cops, birds... they were tearing down the building because they couldn't get to me.

I shot a ton of them until I decided to bail in my copter because I was blowing ammo like crazy and they weren't showing any signs of slowing down. 

Now my question is this.

Is the crazy horde like zombie spawning at night in the wasteland random or did I do something the first night that made everything stay quiet?