Help with understanding the EULA and modding

Hi all, I'm new to modding and I've been working on trying to make a mod that expands the turret system to involve new types. I don't want to do anything that may break the EULA when I'm working on the mod, however.

The licensing agreement in the EULA says I will agree not to: "Reverse engineer, decompile, disassemble, prepare derivative works based on or otherwise modify the Software, in whole or in part;"

I would breach the EULA if I were to use a program like Asset Studio to get the models and textures for the Auto Turrets and other firearms, right? Using the models to try to create a new turret model would also breach the EULA to my understanding. Would any XML I do count as modification of the software? (I wouldn't assume so since its the backbone of a lot of mods I've seen)

Am I right in what I understand? Do the models and icons count as part of the software? I really don't want to do something I'm not supposed to. I'm not too experienced in modeling, but would it be better to try to make my own or should I just keep the regular models? Thank you for any help and I'm sorry if the question seems stupid.

On 4/6/2021 at 5:52 PM, Almond Milk said:

Hi all, I'm new to modding and I've been working on trying to make a mod that expands the turret system to involve new types. I don't want to do anything that may break the EULA when I'm working on the mod, however.

The licensing agreement in the EULA says I will agree not to: "Reverse engineer, decompile, disassemble, prepare derivative works based on or otherwise modify the Software, in whole or in part;"