Prefab as a Block/Item

dalves69

I am very new to modding, but was looking to make a mod that would include a Basic Crafting Table. This would be used, similar to the workbench, but would be required to build basic items (Wood Frames, Ladders, Hatches, Flagstone Blocks, etc). I made a Prefab using the Prefab Editor that was just a Saw Horse and a Wood Plate on top, like a table. I was wondering if there is a way for me to assign a Prefab as a Block or Item. So I could build it in game and then use it as a Crafting Table? I currently have the Saw Horse as the Workbench, but I have to manually add the wood plate to it after placing it to make it look like a workbench.

Moved this topic, "Mods" is only for listing actual mods, not for discussion. Probably happened to your post on Monday as well if you posted it in "Mods".

Assigning a prefab as a Block or Item? That sounds wrong in more than one way. Is your problem that your workbench is made out of 2 blocks which already exist as buildable blocks in the game?

Hi, thanks for the help, as I don't post on forums often.

Yes, I'm trying to make a Basic Crafting Bench that uses the Saw Horse as the base, and the Catwalk (with no railings) as the top. I have it set that combining a Saw Horse and a Catwalk will create the Basic Crafting Bench. However, I have only figured out how to choose a single item to place in the world. So with now I'm using the Saw Horse block. If there is a way for me to place the Saw Horse block in the world and have it include the Catwalk Block on top, that would be ideal.

There are things in 7d2d that occupy more than one block, for example the workbench. So it might be a good idea to check out the workbench (and the chemstation) and identify the xml that makes them occupy more blocks.