Recording Game Play for YouTube Channel Question

Plato314

So, I'm new to recording game play, so if anyone can answer me this, that'd be great.

Am I 'legally' within my rights to record my game play, and upload to my YouTube Channel? Are there 'copyright laws' being broken here? If so, is there anyone from 7 Days To Die, I can contact and 'Ask for Permission'.

Like, there are A LOT of YouTube Channels out there, so I don't see why I couldn't? Only if I begin to 'monetize' off their product, or early sneak peeks, etc? I really have no idea lol

If anyone can help me in this area, that'd be great.

Right, and there's so many channels out there, I think only if you're making like a massive amount of money, would YouTube or any company/publisher, really be willing to take Legal Action.

Otherwise it's basically just, for creative purposes and 'fair use', to legally put it. Plus, it actually supports and advertises the games anyways, right? So unless you claim it as your own, I think it's fair game hehe

11 hours ago, Plato314 said:

Am I 'legally' within my rights to record my game play, and upload to my YouTube Channel? Are there 'copyright laws' being broken here? If so, is there anyone from 7 Days To Die, I can contact and 'Ask for Permission'.

In general, unless the game publisher has explicitly given you permission, the answer is (in I would wager many/most) jurisdictions:

1) Yes, you are legally allowed to record (for own use).

2) Yes you are allowed to upload to anywhere (for own use).

3) No, you're NOT allowed to give OTHERS access to the footage. Which makes YouTube pointless if you just keep it private. But you can use it as a video storage site just like dropbox. As soon as you share the video content, you're distributing it which normally is license violation and often a crime.

4) Yes you normally violate a bunch of copyright laws, and likely your terms of use not only for the game, but YouTube as well which prohibits sharing copyrighted material.