Please tone down the survival aspect

nihilness

Hello fun pimps and others,

I started playing the game in 2015 with a lot of friends and played every version since. As much as I like to play this game, I have become increasingly dissatisfied with every release since then. When I bought the game, I played 300 hours in a year, with friends. However, since then, I have played only a few more hours on each major release to try out the new features and to be honest, I feel cheated. I have no regrets for buying this game in 2015 and for playing it for a year, but I would never, ever buy this game in 2020, even though there's more content.

1.  I feel the game has lost its sandbox aspect, as it has become secondary to the whole "survival aspect"; the game has tried to move from its original idea towards another game. This is no longer the game I bought, even though I know that this kind of things happen in a game that is in alpha. However, the game has been in alpha for a staggering 7 years and the changes brought have been a mix of great/awful for every release. We lost the smell mechanic which was original for a bunch of generic indicators, based off other survival games, that ruin the gameplay. I feel the game has lost its originality, even more content has been added. But it's not the added content that bothers me, but how the core features have made this game feel like a chore when playing. I think that TFP should leave to the player more room to disable certain mechanics. It's no longer a survival crafting sandbox game, but a bad SURVIVAL sim with crafting/sandbox added to the side. TFP could totally remove the crafting/sandbox aspect from it, and the game would feel only slightly different at this stage.