Home Server Build Advice Requested

hkintheuk

Greetings folks,

I believe the time has come to consider building a home server for 7DTD and this will be a standalone machine used for nothing else.

My current Gaming Rig is an i7-7700K, 4.5 GHz Stable, 16GB RAM, 2080 Super, but this is not up for seriously high-performance 2 person LAN multiplayer. 

Don't get me wrong, when I first started playing 7DTD 2 years ago, it was perfect. I was a noob then. I didn't expect or demand much from the game. No mods, no nothing. Basic game.

Now, I use 8K Worlds in Nitrogen, several mods (Bdub's is a favourite), my cities are tight, large and compact, I play on Insane Difficulty, 12 Z's per player, Z's all set to Nightmare movement, Feral's turned on, Max Spawned 40, Z detection ranges increased by 30%. My bandwidthith is fibre speed (200MB / 20 MB)

My machine is struggling.

So I tried a dedi-host, 8GB ram in a data centre. It "kind of" handles the above for 6 players but their servers are struggling. The cost of more RAM is pretty high.

So I thought...why not run my own dedi-server at home ?

My objective is to ratchet things up a bit too. Max Spawned 50-100, Horde from 12-16 PP, more mods, more everything. More more more ! If I drop a building, I expect it to drop. Instantly. Not fall in slow mo. And I'm happy to build a machine to make that happen.

Yes, I'm probably a little bit crazy. I just like the game. 2,100 hours to date. It's the only game I play. It's my go to for R&R. Wife plays too. Hence the need for a dedi-server, and to take the strain off our gaming rigs.

I've been looking in to Xeon servers, and scouring various forums and posts on the web for ideas on spec, but beyond odd snippets here and there, nothing seems really concrete.

Eg, multiple folks says "Allow 2GB per player". But what about throwing an 8K map on that  ? With several mods ? And what level performance is that ? Average / Above-Average / Outstanding ?