Player submitted POIs (competition)

Taddious

Would it be possible to implement a monthly competition in which the playerbase can submit their designs for POIs to the FunPimps?

Then a regular monthly update could add the winner(s)' POIs to the database. That way we could get potentially get hundreds upon hundreds of variety and no two towns will ever be the same and it would free-up a lot of time for the team (I assume they would just need to play test them and make tweaks to the loot balance/zombie placement)

I posted this suggestion on the Steam forums and was told to place it here. It's my first time posting here, so please be gentle and I hope I'm not breaking any etiquette or necroing any repetitive topics.

no this is not an official word...

but seems to me that the best time for such contest would be after we go gold (that way we are done with any changes that could break prefabs ... naming and ids and textures).

gonna be nice to see what designs the community can come up with. :)

9 hours ago, unholyjoe said:

no this is not an official word...

but seems to me that the best time for such contest would be after we go gold (that way we are done with any changes that could break prefabs ... naming and ids and textures).

gonna be nice to see what designs the community can come up with. :)

Yeah, this is what I was about to add as well. It's a nice idea, but it would be pointless to do something like that now since nothing is really set in stone. Things may change over time and old POIs may not be compatible anymore. I can't imagine that the developers of say 50 people would have time to fix hundreds of player made POIs just because they won the competition and were added to the game. This would be best done once the game is really finished in the way that nothing that could break any POI would change in the future.

• 1 month later...