Server owner - how to add more loot containers?

Paige

Server owner noob here, so please forgive my ignorance and be gentle with me.

I put down a buncha bird nests from the dev menus, but they remain sadly empty.

How can I make them start filling with eggs and feathers as appropriate?

Thanks so much for your help,

Paige

If the main goal is to try to get more feathers and eggs in the world, you are better off modding those changes in.
If you were to add them in manually, you would also have to fill them manually.
There are already mods made for increasing feathers/eggs. I know there was once one for increasing the number of nests in A18... not sure about A19.

In biomes.xml, you will see this line in many of the codes blocks
<decoration type="block" blockname="cntBirdnest" prob="0.001"/>
I assume increasing this probability will increase the number of nests.
I have a feeling this does not occur on map generation, but when an area is loaded in for the first time. Could be wrong on that. Either way, I'm sure if you try this with an existing map, I don't think you're going to get desired results.

Then in loot.xml, you can adjust the loot numbers for the birds nests:
<lootgroup name="groupBirdNest" count="1,2">
    <item name="foodEgg" prob="0.25"/>
    <item name="resourceFeather" count="1,5" prob="0.75"/>
</lootgroup>

58 minutes ago, AtomicUs5000 said:

In biomes.xml, you will see this line in many of the codes blocks
<decoration type="block" blockname="cntBirdnest" prob="0.001"/>
I assume increasing this probability will increase the number of nests.
I have a feeling this does not occur on map generation, but when an area is loaded in for the first time. Could be wrong on that.

That was too interesting to pass up, so I tested it in a sandbox. World was already generated, but I hadn't really explored much at all. A couple of teleports to POIs and then quit.

Then I set all cntBirdnest probabilities to 0.05. 50x the previous probability. Result: