The A17 Builder Life - Why It Feels Bad

BobTheBard

Hello! Since this is a lengthy post and a lot of people don't like reading lengthy posts, I put a TL;DR a couple posts down. It wouldn't fit in the main body.

I started playing this game actively during A16 with a group of friends, and found myself enjoying it. I'm primarily a builder, and that paired well with my friends who tended to be fighters and explorers. I was happy minding the base, repairing weapons, building walls, and mining while they were off scavenging and the like, so most of the hours I've spent in this game have been from the perspective of a builder and gatherer. With that in mind, Alpha 17 has been a huge step down for me. I'm still playing it, mind, because I have a friend who is fun to play with and we still have fun in the game together, but I'd no longer play the game if not for that. Allow me to put forth my perspective on why the builder-gatherer lifestyle, like mine, is so unsatisfying now.

As a prologue of sorts, I'd like to just say that I think A17 has de-emphasized a lot of the 'survival' part of this survival game. We might have different definitions of survival, but for me the ultimate goal of survival is to establish a defensible self-sufficient stronghold, to have safety and security in a hostile world. This is presently a tedious and daunting prospect for reasons I'll discuss below, but in short the game's current direction discourages that entire mindset. You're instead encouraged to go on an offensive footing and stay there the whole time, which is the opposite of survival. The ideal playstyle for the current alpha is playing like a raider or bandit, running around looking for targets to engage, taking over a place just long enough to kill everything and loot it, and moving on, only stopping to stash the best bits at a central location you rarely spend any time at. It's shifted from being more like Minecraft to more like Fallout with just one alpha.